Africa Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.0
 Rooms  3.8
 Cleanliness  4.0
 Location  4.3
 Security & Safety  4.5
 Service & Staff  4.3
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.1

"Don't stay in Penguin Village Hotel"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Mariana P. of buenos aires, Argentina
Reviewed:   January 12, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2009     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hello,I'm a backpacker from Buenos Aires, Argentina.I've been to Dahab on january this year and stayed at the Penguin Village .Me and my friends booked a snorkelling excursion with the hotel's agency.Before leaving for the excursion we left our money pouches in my suitcase under lock in my room (which I shared with a friend).When we came back the door of my room was locked as i had left it,but once I came inside I noticed the zipper from my suitcase was broken.Long story short there was a thousand dollars missing from my money and some 400 euros missing from one of my friends.When we told the hotel manager,he blamed it on us at first,saying we could be faking the whole incident,which was ridiculous!We all ended up in the tourist police office,which is basically a joke,but i needed to feel like some justice was being made!
The next day we left the hotel,and they didn't charge us for the rooms,but with the money they stole from me I could have paid for it for almost half a year.I had to change my whole plan after that since they only left like 400 dollars and my credit card,and i had a month trip ahead of me.
So my only way to get back at them for what they've done to me is by telling you to choose another hotel,where more security is guarranteed!!and my advice for those travelling to Egypt is to be very careful with your money!Best of lucks!

"Smooth relaxion"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Carmen L. of Kranj, Slovenia
Reviewed:   February 9, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   January 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Jap, Dahab is a place called a black hole ... in the best sense of the words ... you get there and you enjoy it and you have hard time to leave it. There are wonderful people - also and specially in the Penguin resort ... after two days they know what you like or dislike and it feels like home. Nice, really!

"Good times at Penguin"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Colin H. of Durban, South Africa
Reviewed:   February 6, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   January 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at Penguin Village. The room we were in was very basic but clean and comfortable. The management and staff were friendly and happily accomodated our last minute change of plans due to a missed flight. The restaurant was great - normally we will try everywhere, but we ended up eating almost all our meals there. Location is perfect, right on the sea and a couple of minutes walk from the best of the shopping areas. Plenty of cats to share any seafood dishes with. Diving was excellent and the dive centre was professionally run, with equipment in good condition. All in all, Penguin Village was a good choice at a great price, and we will happily stay there again.

"The Friendly Penguins"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Chris J. of Alberta, Canada
Reviewed:   January 17, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   January 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Penguin Village in Dahab was one of the most friendly and accomidating hotels we stayed at in Egypt, over a 6 week periond. The rooms are clean and the guys working there helped us out whenever we needed it. The managers truely care about how your day excursions are and if there is any problems they fix them right away. There dive center is great and the restaurant is a great place to chill and have a beer. Overall I would suggest anyone going to Dahab to book ahead to ensure yourself a room because as word spreads about how good it is at Penguin the less vacancy there will be.


1 - 4 of 4 reviews




AfricaInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us