Africa Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.1
 Rooms  2.9
 Cleanliness  3.1
 Location  3.6
 Security & Safety  3.1
 Service & Staff  3.1
 Food / Dining  2.7
 Total  3.2

"AWFUL!!!!!!!!"

User Rating:  1.1
Reviewer:   Alec A. of New York City, United States
Reviewed:   March 3, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
AWFUL!!!!

DON'T STAY THERE!

Very dirty! Don't change linen!

they PUSH their tours on you!

Both owner, Atef, and his brother, Omar, are EXTREMELY BAD, when it comes to ethics!

They offer you "free" stuff but it's all included in price!


When they try to sell you the pyramids tour, they try to FORCE you to get a camel or a horse ride, because they OWN the stable there, and they give you inflated prices!!!


Sexual discrimanation IS RAMPANT!


Breakfast you HAVE to ask for, eventhought, as they advertise, it's included in the price!

Wi - Fi is either slow or out most of the times, because they do NOT pay their bills there!


Very dilapidated! Hot water in the showers not running most of the times!


Kitchen is overrun by cockroaches!


Repeat, do NOT stay there!!!! You'd REGRET it!!!

"think twice ~"

User Rating:  2.4
Reviewer:   Daniel K. of melaka, Malaysia
Reviewed:   February 11, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2011     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Think twice whenever you want to click on the "book" button .I was there week ago , the host of hostel was a very friendly man , BUT please be careful for his friendliness , you might get scammed just because of that .
Once u walked into the hostel , you will realize what you see in the picture and other people review is totally bull shit .The hotel was old and the price was expensive .The toilets , furniture , beds , everything is all as old as few decades ago .
And they will offer you a lot of trip to go for desert , giza , luxor ..... dont take all those itinerary , because their price maybe is lower than the usual price , but quality of service is even lower than what you have paid .
We took a trip from him to bahariya oasis and luxor , the trip to the oasis was totally suck . The moment when we pay the money , he(Omar) told us that we will have A/C tourist bus travelled down there , but end up you guys know what , he brought us to take the public non A/C bus to go down to bahariya oasis , can you guys just imagine the bus is actually small and is taking more than 15 passengers .... My god , not only that ..... the trip was totally time wasted , when we reached to one of the station , we were asked to wait for another group of tourist , joining them to get into the desert , wasted few hrs just for waiting and canceled most of the places that he promised to bring us .

Talking about the after trip experience is even worse , after the trip , his brother( one of the host of hostel ) asked me about how was the trip , then me and my friends was trying to be polite , saying is just normal .... and the reaction that he gave me was totally uneducated , showing me his XXXXX face .
Guys , just be careful . Got no more time to complain due to the excessive unsatisfactory i had .Think twice .

"regents palace"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   Dirk K. of Wyoming, United States
Reviewed:   June 27, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Warm staff who always wanna have a chat especially about football seeing as the world cup is happening. Clean and hospitable and will give you a good arranged package on trips to the desert or more local sites.

"Scammers"

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   Chito P. of Washington DC, United States
Reviewed:   June 6, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2010     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hostel Manager, Omar, sold me a ticket to the White Desert. He was very pushy and aggressive.

After I purchased the ticket, I discovered that there was never any intention of taking me to the White Desert. The hostel manager, Omar, just wanted to swindle my money and have me camp out on a sand dune instead.

"3rd Grade Hotel"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Nilesh B. of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed:   March 9, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
They will cheat you as and when they get oppurtunity. Unfurnished rooms, No A/c, Un clean Bathroom. Additional charges when you go out with them for touring. Highly not Recommended.

"Best owner ever in the whole Egipt."

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   JOHN T. of Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed:   July 27, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My experience with the Regent House Hostel was a little bit of everthing, more hapiness than frustration.First at all, I have to say that the owner of this place is a really nice person who is trying to provide the best for his costumers, I found him helpful and funny and it has a really good spirit for Hospitality from all his staff, however they offer me a packcage that it was good value for money and fun, I enjoyed the trip but there are a couple of things that I didnt like it. I have to say that they try to do their best to make me happy and I feel satisfy with the service. This is my impression.I dont regret my trip with them and I will stay again with them if I have to.

"estafadores y mentirosos!!!"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   Lucas P. of buenos aires, Argentina
Reviewed:   June 23, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Pilgrimreservations.com)
Traveled:   June 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
la verdad nuestra experiencia fue muy mala!!!!
empezando porque nos tenian que venir a buscar al aeropuerto y nunca aprecieron, eran como las 11 de la noche y andabamos perdidos por el cairo sin saber que hacer.
lo unico que les importo cuando llegamos era vendernos su paquete para recorrer, luxor, cairo y asuan. luego de tanta insistencia lo consiguieron.
el paquete fue mailisimo!!!! nos pasamos peleando con todo el mundo porque no cumplian con lo que nos habian dicho, no estuvo organizado y no pudimos ir a concoer el valle de lor reyes, en vez de 2 dias de playa como habiamos arreglado tuvimos medio dia.
lo unico que querian era sacarnos mas plata de la que ya habiamos pagado que habia sido demasiada y no paraban de mentirnos todo el tiempo!!!!
obiamnete el hostel nunca se hizo cargo, llegamos y contamos lo sucedido y fue como hablar con una pared.
por favor tenga en cuenta todas estas cosas para que no les pase a otros viajeros!!!!

muchas gracias!!

"Tourist Ripoff"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   C U. of Cairns, Australia
Reviewed:   April 26, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My son was virtually held to ransom for hundreds more than quoted by Regent and assaulted with a stick by a guide because he sat with his legs crossed(apparently rude in their culture)

He was arriving in Cairo from Ethiopia short of money so read reviews, emailed Regent and made arrangements/quote for 2 nights private ensuite(ads said pyramid tour, airport transfers and breakfast included in USD $10.33 per night if stayed 2 nights).

I asked for quote for 2 nights(ensuite), pyramid tour, 2 hour Nile dinner cruise, to from airport transfers and lunches.

Quote I received from Regent, "dear sir \ madam
we have confirmes every thing you asked with only $105 for every thing and your son can pay when he arrive here dont worry about evry thing .it will be okay send us flight details " I travelexed son more than double, only to receive a panicked email saying costing hundreds more than quote.

Afraid he would be arrested if he did not pay, I again travelexed double. He was forced to apy all but $15 of ALL money sent(more than $500), despite not taking Nile dinner cruise, so he had enough to pay(Regent charged over USD $100 for 2 nights but when son argued re quote, said all he had left was $85 they accepted that ).

I intend to report the Regent to Egyptian Tourist Bureau and relevant embassies; you would think tourists would be valued, not ripped off especially in this economic climate.

"If you can stay somewhere else then do so"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   P S. of Hyderabad, India
Reviewed:   February 26, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The only good thing was the free airport pickup (which costs not more than 60 L.E if you bargain). The room was not clean when we arrived and there was no hot water. The owner claimed there was hot water. The less spoken about the bathroom the better. They advertise about free tours to the pyramids but nothing is free. The breakfast was ... well. We stayed there only for 5 hours and had to pay the $26 which I thought was way expensive for the hotel's standard.

"Satisfying Visit"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Richard J. of new mexico, United States
Reviewed:   February 18, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Africainstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2009     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Without a doubt the Regent House is in central location, ease to access (1 floor up),the most helpful and hospitable staff with owner present, rooms airy, large, clean, comfortable and natural sunlight with some street noise. My caution is that this booking service charges $10 for a booking fee, others charge $2 - Hostel World.


1 - 10 of 18 reviews  Next 8 results




AfricaInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us