Africa Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.9
 Rooms  3.8
 Cleanliness  3.3
 Location  3.8
 Security & Safety  3.8
 Service & Staff  3.9
 Food / Dining  4.1
 Total  3.6

"THIEVES!!!!"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Holly J. of Cambridge, England
Reviewed:   August 2, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Whatever you do, DO NOT STAY HERE!!! They convince guests on first arrival to use their safe for valuables but then the staff steal from you!! I lost $600 & the owner Melvin wouldn't reimburse me saying its not his problem. Two German girls I met had 6000 shillings stolen & someone 2 weeks earlier had their laptop stolen! If you need further proof of their corruption & deceit, just check out hostel world as they've had such bad reviews, they've started taking bookings under the name "backpackers hostel" instead!! I've travelled a lot over the last 9 years & this place is the dirtiest, most uncomfortable, unloved place with owners to match!!!

"Lovely place"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Milly K. of Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed:   January 16, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Africainstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Really enjoyed our stay of a five nights. Unique location! Very nicely constructed and laid-out with great views. Hosts very kind. Great place to get in contact with locals. Unfortunately, the Banda assigned to us had no sea view and therefore also no sea breeze, which was very, very, very hot… Food is ok. The New Years buffet with lots of local dishes was more than excellent! Service: apart of one waitress, apparently recruited for the New Years party (only?), permanent staff has difficulties retaining (simple) orders and service often pole pole. Cleanliness: toilets should at least have doors which can be locked, instead of pieces of tissue and should be cleaned more often, especially when fully (over) booked. We were disappointed our last evening (January 1st) when we found out at only 6pm by other guests, that no food was served as “the chef was tired”… We eventually got something to eat (cooked by a local nearby), but it did take lots of effort, which you do not want the evening before an early departure…Despite that incident, definitely recommend a visit (a drink or stay)!

"Great experience"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   Erika J. of MN, United States
Reviewed:   September 6, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Overall the location is a nice break from the tourist city of Mombasa, seafood was the best I ever had, and the atmosphere was just a great place to relax! Thanks for the friendliness Steve & Doreen.

"The unique Beach-Bar and Campresort."

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Shebani H. of Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   August 25, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Loved the uniqueness and location of the Beach-Bar and Campresort, especially for its seclusion that generated privacy that I mostly enjoyed.

"Chill hangout"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Nancy W. of MN, United States
Reviewed:   January 27, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It's really off the beaten path so if you're looking for a hide out, this is it! It is not situated on a perfect white beach so if you're wanting to tan on the sand, this might not be the best fit. The staff were super friendly and the fish was awesome. You may find yourself as the only guest so be sure to bring a book.

"for radical spirits"

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   Carlos R. of the beach, Dominican Republic
Reviewed:   December 25, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hostelearth.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
the staff very helpfull, the place hidden, very very basic, for real african lovers: perfect

"Nice Discovery!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Nick R. of N.Y., United States
Reviewed:   November 17, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I discoverd the beach by coincidence while i was travelling through kenya,
i can not find words to discribe this place - it is just wicked! Nice to relax and the first time i went fishing the kenyan way - truly an adventure.
try the seafood made by melvin - the best i ever ate!

"Ultimate hangout - a lazy lagoon - the place to be!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Katrin M. of Dresden, Germany
Reviewed:   October 15, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I came here to Kenya as a Volunteer for 4 months! House Number 1 direct at the Indian Ocean was incredible and amazing to stay in! The place is like a lazy Lagoon u just dont want to leave! A treehouse was my office with internet connection, where i could work on my studies, the food just too perfect and the people arround here super nice... the best kenya experience ever! Simple Bush and Beach life pure!

"what a beautiful place"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   John M. of toronto, Canada
Reviewed:   May 22, 2006  (see hotel reviews from Africainstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2006     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
my wife and I stayed at the beach bar for a few days in 2006 and loved it .the owner Melvin was great and the seafood meals were out of this world you can walk out to the tide pools and explore and along coral cliffs whata view I would like to say hi to melvin and his wife and baby. Im not sure if they will remember us but we will never forget them, thanks.


1 - 9 of 9 reviews




AfricaInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us